What is Gelatin?
Gelatin is a translucent, colorless, brittle, nearly tasteless solid substance, extracted from the collagen inside animals' connective tissue. It has been commonly used as an emulsifier in food. 
Different Types of Gelatin
There are many types of gelatin that could be used in food products. Gelatin can be derived from bones, pig skin and bovine hides. Non bovine gelatin is produced because of the concern for mad cow disease. "Due to bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE), also known as "mad cow disease", and its link to new variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease (vCJD), there has been much concern about using gelatin derived from possibly infected animal parts." 
Gelatin may also be made from plant sources such as agar agar, carrageenan, and Irish moss.
Source(s) Derived From
|Animal Sources, Plant Sources|
Natural or Artificial?
Aliases (Also Known As)
USP Kosher Gelatin Capsule
Color Key - (Click/Tap to View)
|Ingredient added||UPC Food Search||January 1, 2009 @ 2:14 AM|